Roman Rabinovich and Members of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra

Online from Holy Trinity Episcopal Church

Sat 19 Sept 8pm

Presented by Kate Molleson

Duration: approx. 75 mins

String Quintet in G minor, K516

Piano Concerto No 3 in C minor Op 37 (arr. Vinzenz Lachner)



Photo credit: Robin Mitchell

The practice of playing Beethoven’s piano concertos in arrangements for piano and string quartet or quintet was common in his lifetime. In this concert Roman Rabinovich is joined by five players from the SCO for a uniquely intimate performance of the Third Concerto whose dramatic first movement recalls the brooding tragedy of Mozart’s C minor Piano Concerto K491. Time stands still in the sublime slow movement and the ebullient finale brings the concert to a joyous conclusion. Before it, one of the most profound works from the final chapter of Mozart’s life in chamber music: the G minor quintet is suffused with an often startlingly intense, sorrowful atmosphere that is finally dispelled in the elegant, entirely genial last movement – a tale of darkness giving way to light if ever there was one.

The whole concert was played [by Rabinovich] in an exceptionally cultivated way and with a high degree of technical finish . . . an evening of exceptional music making.


Holy Trinity Church, Haddington

Holy Trinity stands on the site of a Franciscan friary (the original ‘Lamp of Lothian’ before that title passed to St Mary’s Church nearby) which was built here in the 13th Century. The friary was demolished in 1572, and almost two centuries later, in 1769, work was begun on a ‘qualified’ Anglican chapel which was finally consecrated as Holy Trinity in 1815. The present chancel was added and the interior remodelled in an attractive neo-Byzantine style in 1930.


Holy Trinity Church, Haddington


Holy Trinity Church, Haddington
EH41 3EX

Getting there by bus

Buses passing through Haddington
PRENTICE: 108, 109, 101, 111, 122
Please check bus timetables before booking your tickets.

Getting there by train

The nearest train station is at Drem.

Getting there by car

Haddington is in the centre of East Lothian just off the A1. There is free on street car parking in the town.



There is free on street car parking in the town.

We can offer 3 spaces inside the church grounds for blue badge holders. Please email [email protected] to book a space, subject to availability and on a first come first served basis.


Gravel path with flat access into venue.

Induction Loop:

One toilet, not adapted.

Wheelchair Access:

Almost flat access via front door. Small lip to entrance.

Visit East Lothian

Visit East Lothian

Visit Scotland East Lothian