BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

St Mary's Parish Church, Haddington

Photo credit: John Wood

Sibelius Finlandia
Brahms Concerto for Violin and Cello
Rachmaninov Symphony No 2

Mihaela Martin Violin
Frans Helmerson Cello
Eivind Aadland Conductor

Sibelius’s implacable protest against Russia’s oppressive rule of his native land opens this celebration of late Romantic music while Brahms’s double concerto – a piece that combines chamber music intimacy with grand orchestral gesture – showcases the artistry of Mihaela Martin and Frans Helmerson.

The vast canvas of Rachmaninov’s epic symphony makes a powerful climax to this thrilling concert.

Sponsored by

Turcan Connell